What is ITIL Course?

The fundamental abilities a professional needs to possess are covered in ITIL training, the most sought-after certification in the ITIL training courses. 

IT services are essential for every organization, big or small, considering the amount of digital transformation. However, it is challenging to manage these IT services, given the scope of deployment and utilization. ITIL, therefore, comes to the rescue. In this digital age, where everyone and everything is connected through the internet, it is impossible to run things smoothly without a framework in place.

ITIL, or Information Technology Infrastructure Library, is a framework that companies adopt. To master ITIL techniques, an individual must take an ITIL training course. This course lays the foundation for IT Service Management.

Understanding ITIL’s precise nature and scope are necessary to comprehend the online ITIL foundation courses. In addition, it is vital to understand the basic concepts of ITIL for you to move on to the online training certification.

What is ITIL?

ITIL, or Information Technology Infrastructure Library, is a well-known set of best practices for aligning IT services with customer and business goals. Services consist of IT-related assets, accessibility, and resources that provide clients with value and benefits.

It gives a set of systematic procedures that can be used as a guide to tackle difficulties that arise. Typically, the ITIL course as a framework helps organizations to:

  1. Mitigate risk
  2. Increase efficiency.
  3. Reduce the expense of creating and implementing services.
  4. Enhance customer relationships
  5. Build an agile IT ecosystem.

A timeline of the ITIL Framework

Started in 1980 by the British Government, it began to change the face of the IT industry. Here’s the evolution of the ITIL framework:

  • 1989: ITIL V1
  • 2000: Introduction of ITIL V2
  • 2007: ITIL V3
  • 2011: Updated version of the ITIL v3 (discontinued in 2021)
  • 2019: ITIL v4

Axelos is still overseeing and developing certificates for best practices like ITIL and others. The ITIL framework has five different stages.

  1. ITIL Service Strategy.
  2. ITIL Service Design.
  3. ITIL Service Transition.
  4. ITIL Service Operation
  5. ITIL Continual Service Improvement

To maximize the value of ITIL in your organization, you must pursue the V4 ITIL training course. This section will explain the online ITIL training certification in depth.

What’s new in the ITILv4- online ITIL Certification?

The latest ITIL foundation courses offer an end-to-end model for creating, delivering, and improving technology-enabled products and services.

The online ITIL certification is designed for anyone who wants to understand the key concepts of IT and digital service delivery. The ITIL v4 foundation introduces learners to the management of IT-enabled services and the common language used in IT services.

What will the ITIL Training course cover?

The ITIL training certification course will cover the following topics:

  1. Cultural and behavioral principles guide and benefit the organization.
  2. How to increase speed and efficiency by adopting the ITIL framework.
  3. How modern IT and digital technologies operate through ITIL.
  4. How to use the basic terms and concepts of IT service management.

What are the types of ITIL Foundation courses?

The ITIL 4 certification program has been modified to give two primary designation paths with seven modules. From the Foundation level, you will advance to either the Managing Professional (MP) or Strategic Leader (SL) paths. In addition, you are eligible for the ITIL Master title if you finish either path or complete both courses.

  1. ITIL Foundation

You will first need to pass the ITIL Foundation module, which is an entry-level certification that covers the fundamentals of ITIL 4. This requirement is the same regardless of which path you choose.

Candidates for the ITIL 4 Foundation test should fundamentally understand developing valuable products and services for customers and stakeholders. In addition to the basic principles of ITIL 4, the four dimensions of service management, best practices of ITIL 4, and the core ideas of Lean, agile, and DevOps.

  1. ITIL Managing Professional (MP)

This certification involves three specialist modules —

  1. “Create, Deliver and Support,”
  2. “Drive Stakeholder Value,” and
  3. “High-Velocity IT”
  4. “Direct, Plan, and Improve”

ITIL v3 Experts can gain this certification by completing a single course and exam. This ITIL certification will teach you to create value for stakeholders, projects, and teams.

3. ITIL Strategic Leader

ITIL SL accreditation applies to all digitally enabled business services, not only IT operations. This certification focuses on IT’s impact on and contribution to business strategy. To earn your ITIL SL certification, you must pass both of the following test modules:

  1. Direct, Plan, and Improve
  2. Digital and IT Strategy

4. ITIL Master

If you complete all the training courses for both the MP and SL certifications, you will be eligible for the ITIL Master certification. To become an ITIL Master, you must have at least five years of leadership, management, or advisory ITSM experience.

Where to do the Certification from?

Now that we have covered all the types of certifications you can go for. Let us now discuss where you can do the training course from. ITIL training courses are offered in a variety of formats by recognized training providers.

The ITIL 4 Foundation certification training offered by Simplilearn is an excellent place to begin when gaining a grasp of and making improvements to an IT-enabled organization.

What will you learn in Simplilearn’s ITIL Certification course?

The following are the key features of Simplilearn’s certification:

  1. Simplilearn uses the most effective teaching methods to give students the information and self-assurance they need to pass the ITIL 4 Foundation test on their first try.
  2. Industry-led training
  3. It offers three learning options: Self paced, Bootcamp, and Corporate training.
  4. It provides flexible learning: Online and offline classroom learning.
  5. Lifetime access to study material curated by professionals.
  6. They offer 24 x 7 technical support and assistance.
  7. As a part of the course curriculum, they provide free exam practice papers to understand the type of questions asked.
  8. The course fees include the exam certification voucher.

What is the examination format?

The examination will be held online for 60minutes.  The format will be multiple choice questions of 40 questions. Out of which, you are required to pass 26 questions to clear the examination.


Because of its adaptability, scalability, and versatility, the ITIL training course is an excellent choice for any IT department looking to apply new approaches. In addition, the process, functions, and responsibilities of IT Service Management can all be documented with the help of this framework.

Related Articles

Back to top button