ICC Champions Trophy Winners from 1998 to 2017

The Champions Trophy is an annual international men’s cricket tournament organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It usually involves the top eight teams in the ICC rankings. The tournament is played at the end of the summer in the same year before the start of the ICC World Cup. In the Champions Trophy, we have seen some big names lifting the trophy such as Pakistan, India, Australia, Sri Lanka, South Africa, New Zealand, England and some other teams. This post brings the Champions Trophy winners list year-wise from 1998 to 2017. Checkout the latest sports news on cricket for latest information on Champions Trophy.

South Africa beats West Indies at Bangladesh (1998)

South Africa was the first-ever Champions Trophy champions, winning the tournament in 1998 in Bangladesh. They beat the West Indies in the final, chasing down a target of 245 runs in 47 overs with four wickets in hand.

The tournament’s championship game took place on November 1st, 1998 in Dhaka’s Bangabandhu National Stadium. Philo Wallace scored 103 runs and Jacques Kallis claimed five wickets for 30 runs as West Indies were bowled out for 245 in 49.3 overs.

New Zealand beats India at Kenya (2000)

On October 15, 2000, at the Gymkhana Club Ground in Nairobi, Kenya, the 2000 ICC KnockOut Trophy final was held. India and New Zealand competed in it. New Zealand won the championship match by a margin of four wickets, marking their first triumph at an ICC competition.

The competition’s second iteration was held in Kenya in 2000. 11 teams in total competed this time. Sourav Ganguly’s century helped India score 264/6 in its opening innings of play (117). The Black Caps’ response saw them at 132/5 at one stage and struggling. However, Chris Cairns’ magnificent century helped his team win the game.

India and Sri Lanka were Declared Joint Winners in Sri Lanka (2002)

The third tournament, which England hosted, had twelve teams. In Colombo, there was a final between Sri Lanka and India. Sri Lanka scored 222/7 in 50 overs thanks to the fifty-plus runs from Russell Arnold and Mahela Jayawardene. However, due to rain, the Indians were unable to complete their innings. The game was also abandoned the following day after India had scored 38 runs in 8.4 overs. Both teams were named joint champions, while neither team received a Man of the Series or Man of the Match award.

West Indies beats England at England (2004)

This competition, which was held in England, had 12 teams. The championship match between England and the West Indies took place at the Oval in London. Only Marcus Trescothick’s 100 stood out as a remarkable performance when England was chosen to bat first. They totalled 217 runs in 49.4 overs, with Wavell Hinds getting 3 wickets. With seven balls left in the chase, West Indies eventually overcame their opponents by two wickets.

Australia beats West Indies in India (2006)

In India, the fifth edition took place. At Mumbai’s Brabourne Stadium, the final game was played between Australia and the West Indies. The West Indies performed poorly in the first innings, going out just for 138 runs in 30.4 overs. Rain forced the use of the D/L, and Australia reached the goal of 116 runs in 35 overs. With only two wickets remaining, Australia completed the chase in 28.1 overs.

Australia beats New Zealand in South Africa (2009)

The following competition included a total of eight teams and was held in South Africa. Australia and New Zealand competed in the tournament’s grand finale. The Kiwi Teams scored 200/9 in their 50 overs in the first inning. Shane Watson played outstandingly in the chase, scoring 105 runs off 129 balls. Australia prevailed by six wickets to capture back-to-back championships.

India beats England at England (2013)

After winning the 2007 T20 World Cup and the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup, MS Dhoni’s last important ICC trophy victory came in the 2013 Champions Trophy. India advanced to the final of the tournament in England by defeating South Africa, West Indies, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

This Champions Trophy final match was rain-affected, with the 50-over match reduced to 20 over. India scored only 129 runs, and the game was set for a close finish. In response, the hosts England were unable to form a critical partnership, and India ultimately prevailed by a slim 5-run margin.

Pakistan beats India at England (2017)

This edition was once again held in England, with the championship match featuring India and Pakistan. When given the chance to bat first, Pakistan compiled a substantial total of 338/4 in 50 overs. They had an amazing century from Fakhar Zaman, and Mohammad Hafeez added a fast run. The Indian batting lineup responded by disintegrating and being bowled for just 158 runs, resulting in a 180-run defeat.

When India won the toss, they decided to bowl first. The team’s efforts failed because Azhar Ali and Fakhar Zaman had different intentions for the day. The Pakistani opening pair scored 128 runs when Ali got run out for 59 runs off the final ball of the 22nd over. Zaman hit Twelve fours and three sixes in his 114 run off 106 balls. After he was dismissed, the other Pakistani batters continued to add runs to the total. Mohammad Hafeez scored 57 runs off 37 balls while hitting 4 fours and three sixes. Pakistan’s final score of 338/4 against India was their second-highest ODI total.

Mohammad Amir took two early wickets for India, giving them a poor start. The team’s performance was lacking from all of the key players. Their poor performance persisted up until the middle of the innings when Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja set up an 80-run partnership before Pandya was run out. Unfortunately, the tail was quickly removed, and after 30.3 overs, India was declared all out.

It was Pakistan’s first ICC ODI tournament victory since the 1992 World Cup, making them the ninth nation to lift the Champions Trophy.


It has been 20 years since the 1998 ICC Champions Trophy was first played. It was the very first ICC international cricket tournament. After the 1998 ICC Champions Trophy, there have been many other cricket tournaments that have been played. Let’s take a look at the winners of the ICC Champions Trophy from 1998 until today.

Related Articles

Back to top button